We’re Saved!
In case you are getting depressed over climate change I thought I might mention that there is a glimmer of hope in the shape of Dublin based technology company Steorn that claims to have developed a perpetual motion machine using a configuration of magnetic motors which runs with an efficiency of more than 100%. Thus providing an unlimited source of “free” energy.
The idea of a perpetual motion machine involving magnetism is nearly as old as alchemy and while every such claim to create such a device to date has turned out to be false one can’t help but wonder if these Irish fellows have finally cracked it.
They have named this product “Orbo” and this is what they say about their product on their website :
Orbo produces free, clean and constant energy - that is our claim. By free we mean that the energy produced is done so without recourse to external source. By clean we mean that during operation the technology produces no emissions. By constant we mean that with the exception of mechanical failure the technology will continue to operate indefinitely.
The sum of these claims for our Orbo technology is a violation of the principle of conservation of energy, perhaps the most fundamental of scientific principles. The principle of the conservation of energy states that energy can neither be created or destroyed, it can only change form.
Because of the revolutionary nature of our claim, not only to the world of science but to the world in general, Steorn issued a challenge to the scientific community in August 2006 to test our technology and report their findings. The process of validation that has resulted from this challenge is currently underway, with results expected by the end of 2007.
Well before you get too excited there are some things to consider.
Any such device would break the first law of thermodynamics (and maybe even the second).
The whole development is shrouded in mystery with no explanation of how the device could possibly work, this is explained away by Steorn by saying that they don’t understand why it works either. It was discovered by accident.
There are no patents filed by the company which indicate its operation.
They very much display the pattern of previous scientific hoaxes.
Then again on the other hand.
Most scientific discoveries in the past were discovered by accident and the theory was explained later, sometimes much later.
The patent authority forbids the patenting of perpetual motion devices or any machine that defies fundamental laws of science.
Well I’m not going to pass judgment exactly but I do lean on the pessimistic side and it does seem that all will be revealed soon - so lets wait and see shall we?
Video Link : Fox news interview
Also, I should perhaps mention that there has recently been some good news in the sphere of more traditional science with a step forward in plasma research.









We are another Company developing self-sustaining magnetic motors and generators. Several of the generators are solid-state.
As is explained on our website, all are converting energy from the Quantum Vacuum, an abundant source of energy not previously commercialized.
See our website: http://www.magneticpowerinc.com for further information.
Well Mark, I notice that you also have something to do with room temperature semi-conductors so I’m rather surprised that being the director of companies with such important breakthroughs in science you find the time to be skating round the internet posting on people’s personal blogs. Besides I notice that you were supposed to be starting manufacture of your wonderful machines in late 2006 - so where are they?
You show all the signs of being a prize nutter or a con artist. Tell me, do we get a free p*nis enlargement patch with each unit?
Strewth! That will teach me to joke about science.
Wolfie,
The whole thing smells a hoax for me. I visited their site et there are no specifics whatsoever, only empty words, political correctness (Africa, Chernobyl and women receiving engineering awards). If they really want to keep their wonderful discovery secret, then they should not talk about it on a website in the fiirst place. In my opinion, it is a financial trap. Most articles on them on the web are self referential except this one:
http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2006/03/26/story12884.asp
Bizarre, non ?
Thanks for finding that with your excellent piece of detective work Sophia, you have closed the final loophole in the puzzle. I was wondering why a perfectly viable engineering company would jeopardize its future and reputation with such a stupid stunt but seeing now that its already gone belly-up that puts everything in place. They have nothing to lose.
I think the Irish call it a “good craic”.
Guinness all around.
Given that this blog appears to be the place to announce ground-breaking developments in free energy production…
I am currently developing a cold fusion reactor that turns excess atmospheric C02 into a virtually limitless source of clean electricity and also turns base metals into gold as a by product.
All I need is a couple of ‘mill’ to build a prototype reactor. Once that is up and running the project will then become self-financing and yield an almost infinite level of payback to the shrewd investor
Please send all cheques to the usual address
Wow Stef! <- My Hero!
Can I have one?
Why doesnt Alan Wall mention his work at Steorn on his web-pages ?
He got a link to “How steorn chose their website photography”, but he
doesnt mention that he is working for Steorn.
http://waltzer.net/?p=39
He is using a haircut picture from “work”, but doesnt mention Stoern.
On his websites you can se a lot of logos that he has designed for
different companies, but there is no mention of the Steorn-logo. Why ?
Seems that Alan Wall is not proud of what he is doing at Steorn.
He doesnt want to get his name connected to Steorn. I guess he know
what is going on and is afraid of loosing his design bussiness when
Steorn is proved to be a hoax or fraud.
http://www.waltzer.net/
http://www.waltzerdesign.com/logos05.html
http://waltzer.net/?s=Steorn
When someone mention Steorn, the very next moment Mark Golds will post a message promoting his 20 year old fraud.
“Wolfie,
The whole thing smells a hoax for me. I visited their site et there are no specifics whatsoever, only empty words, political correctness (Africa, Chernobyl and women receiving engineering awards). If they really want to keep their wonderful discovery secret, then they should not talk about it on a website in the fiirst place. In my opinion, it is a financial trap. Most articles on them on the web are self referential except this one:”
Different company.
And given women awards for enginerring is a sign of Political correctness? Lol!